Author Topic: Using Googlemaps to plan routes  (Read 11840 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bel

  • Street Triple God
  • *****
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 9929
  • Bike: Carbonised STR
  • Country: scotland
Using Googlemaps to plan routes
on: July 17, 2010, 11:37:50 PM
With us all doing more meets, ride outs and touring it would be helpful if we can show the other forum members our route/s we took. He's a quick guide how to use Google maps.

I'm going to do it in my old IT user manual way (so bare with me it's not meant to be a Dummies guide but help everyone on the forum).

There are 3 methods of doing it.
Method 1
1. Go to http://maps.google.co.uk/. Click on 'Get Directions'.
2. On the map zoom in till you can see your start position.
3. Right-click on it select 'Directions from here'. You can drag and drop these green flags, if it's the wrong road.

4. Move the map till you see your destination.
5. Right-click on it and select 'Direction to here'. You can drag and drop these green flags, if it's the wrong road.

6. To change the route that Google map have selected, grab hold of the blue line by using left-click and keep the button down. Now move it to the right road you want to use.



7. To add a waypoint select the blue line and drag it to the road/destination. If I'm doing a one day trip I tend to make the start and finish point the same and drag the route out to add all my roads I will cover. You just need to keep your head and do it slowly.



8. A light blue line is a road you go on one direction and a dark blue means you do it both ways.

Method 2
1. Go to http://maps.google.co.uk/. Click on 'Get Directions'.
2. Under A type in your starting point and at B type your destination. Click 'Get Directions'.

3. Use the drag & drop method above to modify the route.

Method 3
1. Go to http://maps.google.co.uk/. Click on 'Get Directions'.
2. On the map zoom in till you can see your start position.
3. Right-click on your starting point and select 'Directions from here'.
4. Browse to your next waypoint and right-click on it. Select 'Directions to here'.

5. Browse to next waypoint and right-click on it. Select 'Add a destination'. Keep doing this till you have completed your route. You can move the automatically selected road using the drag & drop method.




Sharing the route with others.
1. Once completed click the 'link' button and copy and paste the url into your post on the forum.

2. To make it look better on the forum copy the url in after the = and before the ] icons as shown below.
Last Edit: July 18, 2010, 10:35:53 AM by Bel
Owner of CarbonFBR, for a peek at some carbon goodness please visit www.CarbonFBR.com, FB at https://www.facebook.com/motorcyclecarbonfiber or Twitter at https://twitter.com/CarbonFBRdotcom

Offline Bel

  • Street Triple God
  • *****
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 9929
  • Bike: Carbonised STR
  • Country: scotland
Re: Using Googlemaps to plan routes
Reply #1 on: July 18, 2010, 10:39:23 AM
Not sure how helpful this will be but look at this.
Using Google Maps with your Garmin GPS Device
Owner of CarbonFBR, for a peek at some carbon goodness please visit www.CarbonFBR.com, FB at https://www.facebook.com/motorcyclecarbonfiber or Twitter at https://twitter.com/CarbonFBRdotcom

Offline greenturbobob

  • Street Triple Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Using Googlemaps to plan routes
Reply #2 on: December 15, 2010, 01:17:06 AM
I use "tyre" to do my route planning.  You can create routes/ itinerays etc and download them to your Tomtom or Garmin.  It uses google maps and its free!

Link:  http://www.janboersma.nl/gett/

Rob

Offline guybruno

  • Street Triple Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 873
  • Had a 2013 Street Triple R now BMW S1000R
Re: Using Googlemaps to plan routes
Reply #3 on: February 21, 2014, 09:39:12 AM
I'm playing with creating routes using Google maps for the first time so please excuse my ignorance, creating waypoints on the map, then copying the link and pasting into Tyre.

I have planned a route to work which is 35 miles from home with a number of waypoints along the way at key junctions, copied the link into Tyre and saved as a GPX file which i then loaded into the Garmin 350.

Now for some reason all I see on the sat nav is straight lines between the waypoints and not the roads in between so not sure what is going on as the route looked ok on Tyre and Google maps, there is a tracked option on Tyre when importing the maps but that seems to add hundreds of flags. 

Any hints on what I may be doing wrong!

Offline bazzer

  • Street Triple Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 824
Re: Using Googlemaps to plan routes
Reply #4 on: February 21, 2014, 09:44:16 AM
I use tyre too and its ace, I can then load the route into Tomtom.

Offline ToastedBlue

  • Street Triple Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Bike: STR14 ABS
Re: Using Googlemaps to plan routes
Reply #5 on: February 21, 2014, 10:24:15 AM
Another Tyre user, www.tyre.tk,  much easier than Google and, other than letting you load routes straight onto a TomTom or Garmin, lets you view the route on Google if you need too. PLUS it uses the old colour maps that let you actually see the roads without zooming in or squinting

Offline bazzer

  • Street Triple Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 824
Re: Using Googlemaps to plan routes
Reply #6 on: February 21, 2014, 10:26:15 AM
You can also make it pad out with waypoints to make sure you go the way you want to go.


Offline JONO 67

  • Street Triple Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 634
  • Bike: 12 str
  • City / Town: Co Durham
  • Country: gb
Re: Using Googlemaps to plan routes
Reply #7 on: February 21, 2014, 10:30:05 AM
*Originally Posted by guybruno [+]
I'm playing with creating routes using Google maps for the first time so please excuse my ignorance, creating waypoints on the map, then copying the link and pasting into Tyre.

I have planned a route to work which is 35 miles from home with a number of waypoints along the way at key junctions, copied the link into Tyre and saved as a GPX file which i then loaded into the Garmin 350.

Now for some reason all I see on the sat nav is straight lines between the waypoints and not the roads in between so not sure what is going on as the route looked ok on Tyre and Google maps, there is a tracked option on Tyre when importing the maps but that seems to add hundreds of flags. 


Any hints on what I may be doing wrong!
I have used tyre to great effect across Europe,but only with my mates older tom tom xl with itinerary route planning. My newer tom tom via is not compatible with tyre, Tyre forum is probs your best bet for a answer to your issues.

Offline ToastedBlue

  • Street Triple Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Bike: STR14 ABS
Re: Using Googlemaps to plan routes
Reply #8 on: February 21, 2014, 10:34:39 AM
and just in case anyone ventures into Wales, these are some of my routes, all start/end near Brecon and created with Tyre...

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/xhh8ltzjsr9vwe7/-5-sGsIm_A

 :028:

Offline Joeski518

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Bike: 2016 Street Triple R
  • City / Town: Lichfield
Re: Using Googlemaps to plan routes
Reply #9 on: August 26, 2019, 12:01:14 PM
I've found Google great to create custom routes however noticed one really annoying issue - when you share the custom route to use Google maps on your phone, it loses all of the custom flags you've dropped to define which road you'd like to take. It keeps the destinations of where you wish to travel to, but it recalculates the "quickest" route rather than using the flags you've dropped on the PC. I'm not sure if this is a version or Android issue as I've not had chance to play around with it in great detail.

I've not heard of tyre before, will check it out!

 


scandal-fat