Street Triple

Main Street Triple Board => Electrical, Lighting, Battery and Wiring => Topic started by: DEMON TROY on August 21, 2019, 04:31:31 PM

Title: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: DEMON TROY on August 21, 2019, 04:31:31 PM
09 triple. won't turnover. No sound at all. just headlights. no indicators. no fuel priming. Clutch in, neutral. Battery is good. Any ideas?
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: greyhound81 on August 21, 2019, 04:39:56 PM
i know you say battery is good, but almost everyone here will say first port of call is battery- how can you tell that its good?
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: DEMON TROY on August 21, 2019, 04:44:40 PM
measures 12.75. when pressing starter switch still measures 12.75.
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: greyhound81 on August 21, 2019, 04:52:18 PM
ok another obvious check is to see if any wires are damaged around the headstock especially, the ignition for example
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: DEMON TROY on August 21, 2019, 04:58:26 PM
all ok there. what is confusing is that the headlights are on but nothing else. where does the the voltage go from that point?
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: OuzoStreet on August 21, 2019, 05:16:17 PM
No indicators? If it was just a lack of turn over I'd have guessed something to do with the kill switch, but what you're describing suggests it's something to with the left hand controls and the wiring loom that comes from the left bar and goes through the plastic trim piece near the headstock and heads to the left side and underneath the airbox. Fuses all good? I think you may have some broken wires .

Sorry, I should add that if the clutch switch isn't working it won't start, and obviously that's also on the left with the indicators. Although I think the fuel pump would prime once the kill switch is disabled. Hmmm.

Anyway, see pics of connectors with tank and aribox removed.
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: DEMON TROY on August 21, 2019, 05:37:56 PM
Thanks. Will check later. All that works are the headlights and the display lights up but no display of info. Just blank.
Nothing else works at all. Wierd. If the battery were faulty would the headlights work?
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: OuzoStreet on August 21, 2019, 05:51:47 PM
No display of info on the clocks but they light up? Maybe they have failed? The bike won't start without working clocks. Basically the ECU sends a signal to the clocks to check that they're there and if not it won't let the bike start. There is a way round this which I don't want to document here. What I can't recall is whether or not the fuel pump primes with the clocks removed. I've done it, I just can't remember unfortunately.

Do you have an OBD II cable? If so you can use Tune ECU to check for faults logged in the ECU. If you have both of these things then send me a private message and I'll tell you how to check if it's the clocks.
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: DEMON TROY on August 21, 2019, 06:17:05 PM
No cables.
I unplugged the datatool alarm and used the plug that came with it. But no difference. Going to remove and charge the battery overnight. Could the battery had an internal fault?
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: OuzoStreet on August 21, 2019, 06:35:34 PM
I don't think this is a battery issue. You have more than enough voltage to power the instruments and if they are coming on but the display is blank, I think that's at least part of the issue. Sorry.

Are you anywhere near Ashford in Kent? Do you know anyone on here with an OBD II diagnostic cable? You can buy them on eBay/Amazon. I bought one from Lonelec for under 20. Then I bought the Android version of Tune ECU from the Play store.
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: OuzoStreet on August 21, 2019, 06:45:02 PM
You could also lift the front of the tank and check the bit of wiring loom I've circled where it rubs against the underside of the petrol tank...
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: DEMON TROY on August 21, 2019, 06:51:34 PM
Will check. The display does light up but without info. Also when I left it for three months plugged in to an optimate would that affect anything? Had to laugh as I live in Cyprus!
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: OuzoStreet on August 21, 2019, 07:06:25 PM
*Originally Posted by DEMON TROY [+]
Will check. The display does light up but without info. Also when I left it for three months plugged in to an optimate would that affect anything? Had to laugh as I live in Cyprus!

Ha ha! I'll be there in five, put the kettle on. Ahem.

No, I really don't think the Optimate would damage anything at all.

I think getting the bike plugged into a diagnostic tool is the answer.

Do you know anyone else out there with a 2009 bike who might let you try their clocks? (Hopefully they would survive the testing process). Maybe someone else will chip in. But surely blank clocks indicates either a problem with the ECU sending info to them, the wire carrying info to them, or the clocks themselves.

If it were mine, I'd be plugging in my diagnostic cable, then, if there were no error codes, I would disable the canbus startup check for the clocks and try to start the bike.
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: DEMON TROY on August 21, 2019, 07:19:43 PM
Thanks. I don't know anyone here with my bike so will persevere with all your suggestions and see.
Will let you know. Cheers
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: OuzoStreet on August 21, 2019, 07:48:38 PM
I've just done a quick test for you. I unplugged my clocks and then turned the ignition on, with the kill switch in the run position. The following happens:

The lights come on.
Brake lights work.
Indicators work.

The ECU does not make its usual noise after startup (like it's sending a fax :038:)
The fuel pump does not prime.
The engine will not turn over.
The ECU does not make the usual noise a few seconds after turning the ignition off.

Soooooo, I still think it's your clocks, a wire leading to your clocks or the ECU. I guess it could still be several breaks in the loom of course. Should any of this lead to you fixing your bike, I would like to pre-emptively claim my free holiday in Cyprus  :038:
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: DEMON TROY on August 21, 2019, 08:22:30 PM
Haha, nice one.
On trawling through similar problems I came across one with identical issues. He found fuse no 4 horn and alarm had blown. Changed it and all was fine. Just pulled no 4 fuse out and it has blown. Will try and see if this makes a difference tomorrow as it's dark now. My datatool has lost it's sound, just flashes. Not sure how a fuse can create this problem. Can you pull yours out and see what happens?
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: OuzoStreet on August 21, 2019, 08:35:26 PM
Well, that would make for a very cheap fix and be the complete opposite of my doom and gloom assessment. Lol.

More importantly, it would maybe make sense because of your alarm. See the attached screenshot from the manual. Fuse 4 is indicators and alarm!

Sorry, I'm away from my bike now.
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: DEMON TROY on August 22, 2019, 09:12:49 PM
Well how can a fuse have such an impact. New fuse fitted no 4 and everything is back to normal.
Title: Re: triple 09 won't turn over
Post by: OuzoStreet on August 22, 2019, 09:33:24 PM
*Originally Posted by DEMON TROY [+]
Well how can a fuse have such an impact. New fuse fitted no 4 and everything is back to normal.

It's because of the alarm and the way it immobilises the bike, I think. As an aside, I once had a Meta alarm. After a few years the internal rechargeable backup battery inside the alarm died, rendering the bike unusable until the whole alarm was removed. Might be worth bearing in mind for the future for you.

Anyway, great news that it's fixed. I learnt something too  :002:

Sorry if I caused you stress suggesting your clocks might be faulty. Oops! I never knew an alarm could make our clocks go blank. Maybe it's something to do with the way the ECU sends data to them over the canbus system?

I couldn't why my bike was showing a fault this morning and then eventually I realized it was because I turned the it on with the clocks disconnected. Duh. I soon reset it with the OBD II cable and Tune ECU though  :002: